2021 ANICC and British Hill Climb Champions crowned at Craigantlet

Wallace Menzies, from Alloa in his Gould GR59-M, recorded the fastest time on the Simon Brien Residential Craigantlet Hill Climb to secure the 2021 Footman James Motorsport UK British Hill Climb Championship (BHC), with two rounds still to go.

His superior driving skills throughout the day, particularly during two British Hill Climb Championship run offs (Rounds 25 & 26) saw him winning both, averaging 76.1 mph and just 0.04 seconds shy of the current record for Craigantlet of 39.12s on his last run (Pic A).

Wallace was awarded the

News Letter Trophy for the Fastest time of the Day.

The resulting win of Class 15, (All other Racing Cars)

also saw him collect the Dunlop Trophy .

His wife Nichola Menzies collected the Noble Trophy for the fastest lady up the Hill a new award introduced this year specially for the ladies – a really great family day out! (Pics C,D, E & F).

Ladies award – Nicola Menzies from Alloa – Gould GR55B
Wallace and Nichola Menzies with their Craigantlet awards, Nicola won the Noble trophy for the fastest lady driver and Wallace won the Dunlop trophy for winning Class 15.
Nicola Menzies holding the Noble Trophy awarded to the fastest lady up the ‘ Hilll ‘
Wallace Menzies – 2021 Motorsport Uk British Hill Climb Champion with his wife and support team displaying their awards

Eighteen out of the top twenty BHC drivers made the journey to Craigantlet to entertain the spectators with superb displays of machinery and driving ability but full credit has to go to Wallace with his clean sweep. Alex Summers, in his DJ Firestorm, has been chasing Wallace all year and came a close second with a run of 39.53s in round 26 of the BHC (Pic G). Dave Uren sharing his Gould GR55B with Wallace’s wife Nicola bagged third place with a 39.97s also in the last run off (Pic H).

2nd Overall – Alex Summers from Henley-in-Arden – DJ Firestorm
3rd Overall – Dave Uren from Redditch – Gould GR55B

The Simon Brien Residential Craigantlet Hill Climb was the last round of the ANICC Millers Oils Hill Climb Championship and our local competitors performed equally as well. Graham Thompson, from Antrim, in his GTR Turbo clinched the Overall Championship title taking 14th place on the event with a time of 44.18 seconds (Pic I). The fastest driver up the ‘Hill’ in the ANICC Championship classes was Alan Cassells, from Lurgan, in his OMS 25 taking 43.86 seconds to cover the 1460 yard long course which equates to just over 68 mph, finishing in 11th place overall. (Pic J).

Graham Thompson ANICC Hill Climb Champion 2021 from Antrim in his GTR Turbo

Despite the cloudy weather and one very heavy rain shower on the second practice run, 3 ANICC class records were broken, congratulations to all winners but especially these three.

Gordon Fogarty in his ‘Belfast Ferrari’ a Fiat X1-9, topped Class 6A(Modified cars Series Production, 2 Valves per cylinder, 2 Wheel Drive only) in his second timed run with 54.27s shaving 1.23 seconds of his own previous record of 55.50s set in 2019 (Pic K).

Class 6A winner – Gordon Forgarty from Belfast – Fiat X1/ 9
Class 7 winner – David Hawthorne Westfield Megabusa

David Hawthorne, from Belfast sharing his Westfield Megabusa with his brother Steven, reduced the Class 7 (Modified Specialist Production Cars, 2 Wheel Drive) record by 0.9 seconds bringing it under the 49 second barrier to 48.88s, a record which had stood since 2010 (Pic L). This fantastic drive on run three resulted in him winning the ANICC Millers Oils Hill Climb Specialist Category from Jack Boal in his GTR Hayabusa.

Colin McDowell in his Morris Mini set a new Class 16A (Road cars Historic Saloons and Sportscars – road going) record of 57.29s in his first timed run, shaving 1.41 seconds of the previous record set in 2019 (Pic M).

Daniel Campbell, from Ballymena, in his Toyota Starlet won Class 9A taking 49.53s to climb the ‘Hill’ which netted him the overall ANICC Millers Oils Hill limb Modified Saloon Championship from the Escort Cosworth piloted by Davy Francis (Pic N).

In the ANICC Millers Oils Hill Climb Roadgoing Saloon Championship Philip Cardy, a native of Downpatrick, driving his Subaru Impreza won Class 3 with a time of 54.01s and secured his Championship title from second place driver Adrian Mulholland (Pic O).

Class 16A winner – Colin McDowell from Carrowdore – Morris Mini
Class 9 winner – Dan Campbell from Ballymena – Toyota Starlet
Class 3 winner – Philip Cardy from Downpatrick – Subaru Impreza

Clerk of the Course, Wilson Carson, in his drivers briefing commented: “The Club thanks our title sponsor -Simon Brien Residential and all our other associate sponsors, volunteers, residents, marshals, drivers and spectators for continuing their support for the event. We are all looking forward to a safe and enjoyable day of motorsport“.

Wilson then made a short speech acknowledging the contribution and longevity of a local motorsport legend – Tom Lawther (car 71) who was presented with a surprise cake and card to celebrate his 80th birthday on the actual day of the event, what an excellent way to enjoy such an occasion. Congratulations Tom, many happy returns!! (Pic P & Q).

Lucinda McKee presenting Tom Lawther with a cake and card to celebrate his 80th birthday on Craigantlet Hill Climb.
Tom Lawther still going strong at 80 years of age!!

The Ulster Automobile Club congratulate all the winners and once again would like to thank all the residents for their continued support and forbearance without which this spectacle could not be possible.

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *